Get Inspired and Hit the ground running.

IN LIGHT OF SUNDAY’S STANDARD CHARTERED MARATHON SINGAPORE 2011, HERE’S A REALLY REALLY AWESOME POST I WOULD LIKE TO SHARE. IT INSPIRED ME, AND I HOPE IT WILL DO THE SAME FOR YOU TOO.

(taken from I ❤ to run‘s FB Page)

David Goggins sleeps three hours a night. He has a resting heart rate of 32 beats per minute. He wakes up at 3.a.m. and runs 15 to 20 miles. He commutes 25 miles to work by bicycle. He is the only person to complete Navy SEALS “Hell Week” three times. He is the only person to complete Tactical Air Control, SEAL and Army Ranger training.

With no special training, David Goggins ran 100 miles in 18 hours. In finishing that race, in 2006, he suffered stress fractures in his feet and shins, urinated blood and lost control of his bowels. David Goggins completed 10 100-mile races in 2007. He finished third at the 2007 Badwater, a 135-mile trek through Death Valley known as “The World’s Toughest Footrace.” He once ran 203.5 miles in 48 hours.

“With the Special Ops Warrior Foundation’s help, we put 266 kids through college last year. And that’s what keeps me going. I’ll be honest, I don’t like running. I don’t like biking. I don’t like swimming. I do it to raise money. But, now that I’m in this sport, I want to see how far I can push myself. What makes me tick is that pain you feel when you do these ultramarathons. I love knowing that everyone’s suffering because I know I can suffer just a little bit more. I can take a lot of pain.” – David Goggins

~~

I have a lot of respect for this guy. Not only has he done so many things which is deemed impossible to many, he also has a great built, body and mental toughness. Just the things which i could only dream of. I had always pictured ultra marathoners and ironmen to be somewhat slim built and a little on the not-so-buffed side BUT David Goggins has showed me that its possible to achieve the best of both worlds – RUNNING and HAVING A GREAT BOD.

I dont know about you people out there how you feel about this, but honestly, the first time i read it I AM TRULY INSPIRED TO RUN MORE. ACHIEVE MORE BE MORE THAN WHO I AM TODAY.

I’ve never ran a marathon ever in my life. I just picked up running last year (October) and im hoping to complete my first marathon in 2012. For 2011, it’ll be half-marathon for me (this Sunday at Standard Chartered Marathon Singapore). Looking and hoping to learn more from runners all over the world! 🙂 May i have wings on my shoes (like Hermes) to ferry me across 21km with ease.

TO ALL RUNNERS (10km, 21km or 42km) HAVE A GOOD REST AND ENJOY THE RUN. 😉

**To view the SCMS 2011 Route videos and maps CLICK the icon above!**

2 thoughts on “Get Inspired and Hit the ground running.

Leave a Reply

