New Year, New Challenge, New Me: Muay Thai @ Evolve MMA

Its 2012 and to kick start the new year, i gave myself a new challenge – to learn Muay Thai and Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. Or at least to learn and be conditioned with the basic moves. But my experience about the latter will be for another day.

So where else better than to train at Evolve MMA – Asia’s Top Martial Arts Academy. Having the most number of world champions Muay Thai fighters-instructors in the academy, the sessions were structured and most importantly, fun to be in. I’ll go on into further details the next time round. 🙂

Personally, i had always liked Muay Thai as a form of self-defense. I was inspired by Jean-Claude Van Damme‘s The Quest, a 1996 movie about martial arts particularly Muay Thai.  The “Art of Eight Limbs” as it is also known, Muay Thai uses the fists, elbows, knees and shins to strike an opponent.

But that being said, i’m a lover and not a fighter. Those who have followed this blog would know that I just love changing my fitness routine as well as experimenting with different sports because different sports would require different level of fitness. Being able to run 21km doesnt necessarily mean you would have the stamina to last a Muay Thai “fight” or even a soccer game for that matter. And my quest to be a wholesome athlete has got to encompass a variety of trainings and workouts.

I have kicked start my training over at Evolve MMA Academy last week and i must say, I’m addicted to the training. I’m so stoked to go for the next lesson! Call me crazy but I went for my 2nd Muay Thai class the day after my first! I especially love it because i CANNOT sustain a non-stop 3-min skipping portion (as part of the warm up) and i CANNOT execute a proper kick. It doesnt really help when you see younger guys, kicking the bag with a super loud “KE-PAAK! KE-PAAK!” sound. 😦 Motivates me to train harder and perform better at the next session. I cant lose to a kid can i? >.<“

With a combination of self-defense and fitness, Muay Thai is certainly one of the best ways to get lean and get a great functional physique too! #JustSaying 😛

Stay tuned for updates on my Quest to better my fitness and YES, you should join me too in bettering yours! I dont have much pictures because obviously i cant take photos while training. But i’ll work things out soon. That being said, i’m heading for another class later today, Thursday. Can’t wait!

Man…i just love the adrenaline rush, the sweat and the feeling of satisfaction knowing you just went through 1 hour of circuit training and coming out alive.

Oh. you can also follow my updates and other fitness or sports progress/updates on Twitter: @whywerunn OR Evolve MMA’s own Twitter account @EvolveMMA.

Till next time, Kap kun khap! 

Leave a Reply

