PERSONAL RANT: Take a break, Take5: Of Ramadhan, School and a Zombie Attacks

Oh hello there. Yes, its been so long since I last updated this blog. Weeks since I last posted up something about sports, weeks since I last ran, days since I last had a solid good sweat-lovin’ work out. I feel fat. No wait, I have high metabolism. So honestly, I feel skinny and weak. Its like, if there was ever a zombie apocalypse, I’d be either (1) The first character to die, (2) Defend myself like a Hobo With A Shotgun or (3) Don a sheriff’s uniform and hope that I’ll manage to squeeze myself out of a zombie orgy. Sheriff/Police uniform always work wonders. (Think: Dawn of the Dead, Walking Dead and Chuck Norris)

Oh look! Another SALE across the street!

This is gonna be a long post, brace yourself.


The past 4 weeks have been a real challenge for me and my team too I suppose. Lots of event coverages, gear reviews and some other site development. *hint hint* But personally for me this fasting month of Ramadhan has been nothing short of a challenge for me both physically and mentally. Been super super busy with work and life. Cheyy.

WORK 1: Recently, I’ve taken over the Presidency role in my school’s Gym Club and with new equipments and people coming in, I was tasked to settle most admin and planning matters for the gym. Love the gym, hate the planning to be honest. But now, with most things and system in place, all is good. Just have got to tweak its appeal to bring in more women into the gym. Zumba, aerobics, yoga classes, Basic Exercise Course in the pipeline. Gosh!

I eat them metals for break fast.

WORK 2: Coinciding with my school’s “Assignment Month”, I have like 4 essays + 1 presentation to complete in 4-6 weeks. Times like these how I’d wish there was indeed a zombie attack and hey presto – NO SCHOOL! Nonetheless, its stressful to say the least.

School’s been a crazy for me. Its not that I hate it but I dislike the fact that it forces me to shift my priorities to finishing up mindless essays and cramp my brains on theories which I  don’t think I’ll be using them when I go to work. I mean seriously, its useful to know what to management strategies one could apply in a particular situation but to actually remember the exact theory and all? Oh please.

You don’t go into a meeting and address the people/colleagues telling them that “According to Hofstede’s Theory blah blah blah….” or “The definition of Organizational culture is….as cited by some-person-born-in-the-40’s”.

Theories are good to know BUT not important to know it, at least that’s the way I see it. The only good thing about school is that it stresses me out (say WORD!). And because that, I hit the gym just to release some mindless tension up in my head. I like the gym. Thats why i work there. And oh yah, meeting up with awesome friends in school too is good stuff.

Friends, they help you pull through school…alive.

WORK 3: With Hari Raya just coming up tomorrow, its been a spring-cleaning frenzy at home. Thank God i have a Supermum and Superdad who single-handedly settled almost EVERYTHING! Wow. Well of course, I did chip in a bit. As the saying goes, “If you can’t help, at least don’t make it worse.”. Technically, I wasnt around in the house much.

The month of Ramadhan has this funny effect on my body. Somehow, I feel more energetic and fresh when I’m at the gym doing my not-so-intense-workouts. And though I eat a lot come break fast time, my morning meals comprise of simple things like rice and chicken or simply cereal + milk. And yeah, loads of water. Eat healthy, be healthy and stay healthy. That’s my motto for this year’s Ramadhan. Well, you CAN indulge once a while, but of course, in moderation.

I’ve toned down on my training during this month. No longer the intense circuit or 5×5 heavy exercises or the hour-long run on the treadmill in school. I guess, Ramadhan period is more about maintaining the physique and fitness for me. Just you know, so that when Hari Raya comes, at least I could fit well into my raya clothes and IF the public transport system fails again, I could easily walk/jog to the next house.

On a side note, recently I tried out this “energy drink” – Take5. I’m sure most of you have seen it around convenience stores etc and like many others, would question its effectiveness. I don’t blame you cause I do too. Seriously, “an energy drink which can keep you going for 5.5 hours MORE”? Skeptical! Scam! Gimmick!

However, here’s the FUN FACT: I tried it. And it freaking works like “OMG, what is this GOOD ****?!”. True to its claims of “works instantly” as printed on the bottle, it did not fail. Taste wasn’t that bad nor was it too sweet. Its rather citrus-sy. Had it twice on two separate occasions: (1) I was super tired and took it AND forced myself to sleep and (2) Took it during early breakfast. Case (1) got me waking up after sleeping for just 2 hours BUT FEELING SUPER FRESH. Case (2) is what I’m using NOW to blog. Hahaha. Still alive and kickin’.

Overall, I feel that this Take5 is effective wanna push yourself a bit more in whatever you want to do. Be it playing sports, work work or school work, it DID keep me awake and sharp when I took it. However, one should NOT consume such supplements too often or too many times in a day. My advice is to have proper and adequate rest and nutrition if possible.

Take this energy drink if you want to have an added boost in energy and to keep you awake. That’s my take on Take5 Energy drink. 🙂 

And oh, Selamat Hari Raya to all my Muslim readers and friends. 🙂

WE’LL BE BACK!

Leave a Reply

